Hypnotised by the smothering warmth of the Rhone 2010!!!

Wow Rhone 2010 campaign, If ever there was a perfect day, well they picked it yesterday. Damp cold and foggy as you walk through the City of London towards the Vintners Hall.

What can I say about the Rhone 2010 a rather chilly spring with perfect summer conditions, with a minute amount of rain just as it was needed towards harvest time. Harvesting was generally a lot earlier than that of 2009.

2009 were great with that certain masculinity but 2010 just really show of what this area can offer!! There are already whispers of vintage of a decade down in the south and comparisons with 1990’s and 1991. Yields were pretty low on the Grenache in 2010 giving great concentration.

For me the stars of the night were the Cote Rotie, what can I say the Granite and Shist soils of the Cote Blonde providing femininity and elegance with huge structure and depth.

Rostaing’s example just blew me away, being just a tad star struck I sampled his great wines, bacon fat with Italian herbs filled my nose with a chocolate velvety texture followed by deep autumn wild berries. Wow.

A little surprise came from Domaine Coulet, his Cornas, Billes Noires was outstanding. Yeast and black truffle supported by the darkest of Damsons- the finish accompanied me all the way home to east London!!

I cannot wait to watch them grow.

2 thoughts on “Hypnotised by the smothering warmth of the Rhone 2010!!!

  1. Hi Amanda, I am a food and drink PR, with clients ranging from FMCGs to fine wine and wondered whether I could add you to our press release mail out list – very impressed by your blog. Please send me your contact details if you would be happy for this. Best, Lisa

Whats your opinion?

